The American Dream: Washington D.C. – Part One

DSCF1104

Day 6

The train swept across the East Coast of America, moving through fields and cities as the sun rose until eventually, I reached the capital city. The well-worn map of New York, my new-found knowledge of the streets of Manhattan, the hostel…all redundant now. Today, I was in a new city, with new landmarks, and a whole new environment to explore.

I developed a routine as I reached a new city: find my way to the hostel, check in, hopefully receive a map, and then head out and explore my new surroundings. This became one of the highlights of this adventure, as I never failed to be excited by waking up in one city, only to find myself in a completely different landscape and location a few hours later. As I boarded a bus to reach my new hostel, the driver gave me a brief introduction to D.C…well, the parts that happened to be on the route, which covered very little of the city. After mentioning that I studied Arabic, the driver revealed that he was Egyptian, and as we spoke, he insisted that as I had studied the language, I would certainly marry a Muslim and convert to the religion myself. I’m still quite puzzled by his process of thought, but it was still a brilliant opportunity to practice my Arabic.

After a short ride, the driver pointed me in the direction of my hostel, and wished me luck. I walked across the wide Washington streets for the first time: peaceful, less crowded, yet just as easy to navigate as the ones in New York. Eventually, I reached my hostel. I don’t usually have much to say about my hostels, but this one is worth mentioning and recommending, as you couldn’t pick a better place to stay in D.C (http://duohousing.com/). As soon as I entered, I was stunned by how brilliant it was. The community spirit, the helpful and friendly nature of the hostel workers, the cleanliness of the rooms, and particularly, the other guests – all were incredible, and it was the only hostel that I enjoyed staying in, as opposed to using as a sleeping point. They even offered a free – and delicious – barbecue in the evening. I’d arrived at 11am – I had the entire day to explore D.C, and although I was exhausted from an early departure from New York, I set out, determined to make the most of my three days here.

Thankfully, I didn’t have to wait long; the majority of the capital’s iconic monuments are located in its stunning centre, and after a short walk, I was staring directly at the most filmed building in the world. The White House. Large, majestic, gleaming in the distance, was the home of the President of the United States. Oh, and the security guards perched on the roof. And outside the front door. And the edge of the gate that separated it from the hundreds of tourists zealously taking photos.

DSCF0961

I moved closer towards this heavily-fortified white fortress of wonder, looking at its snow-like pillars, the fountain just outside, the perfectly-cut green carpet of grass stretching to the gate. It was spectacular, and as I approached, I saw a different type of accommodation: a large, yellow tent, filled with signs protesting against a number of issues, ranging from America’s support of Israel to the continued existence of nuclear weapons. Turning, I walked towards the large iron gate and peered through: before me stood the magnificent White House in all its glory. Just yesterday evening, I looked into the magnificent New York skyline, and now, I stood on the edge of another American wonder.

Leaving the White House, I headed towards a colossal obelisk behind it; a towering monument that guarded the entire city. The Washington Monument. Walking up the winding path, I saw that the monument was surrounded by a circle of American flags, which further exemplified the level of pride and respect that Americans have for their history and heritage. As I reach the entrance of the obelisk, I am told that I cannot ascend it without a ticket. Suddenly, I see a man approach one of the Park Rangers monitoring the tower – ‘I accidentally ordered too many tickets – can you give these to people who may need them?’ Brilliant! I approach the Ranger and ask her how I could obtain a ticket; she gives me one. Park Rangers are cool. Filled with excitement, I race to the entrance and take a lift to the very top. The doors open, I walk out….and am greeted with a breathtaking panoramic view of the city. To one side, a neat, yet vast expanse of white buildings are huddled together; on another, a sweeping field, beginning with a large round fountain, leading to the legendary rectangular Reflecting Pool, which stretched towards the Lincoln Memorial. I was surrounded by historical and political monuments of wonder, and realised how lucky I was to have made it here within two hours of arriving.

DSCF1136

After leaving the top of the monument, I walked into an oval-shaped enclave, surrounded by large stone monuments, each covered with wreaths. A large pool filled with beautiful fountains lay in the middle. This was Washington’s tribute to the brave soldiers who died during the Second World War. Sitting here on this hot day, dipping my toes into the refreshing cold water of the monument, looking around in awe at this stunning memorial, I was enchanted by the peaceful atmosphere – it was an awe-inspiring way to remember the fallen.

DSCF1207

Moving on, I reached the Reflecting Pool – a large, neat avenue of water, which as the name would suggest, perfectly reflected the Washington Monument and Capitol Building that stood in the distance. And as I walked along the side of the Reflecting Pool, Lincoln approached. I’ve been fascinated by the Lincoln Memorial since the age of five, when my grandfather bought me a book about Abraham Lincoln and his time in power. Ever since then, the colossal statue of one of America’s greatest Presidents has looked at me through books, movies and television, beckoning me to visit. Now, finally, I was here. Above me were a grand set of steps, leading to a large stone structure supported by pillars, and at the very top, sitting majestically, was the statue of Abraham Lincoln. As I reached the top of the steps, I approached the statue in awe. On either side, giant inscriptions were carved into the walls. “Four score and seven years ago…” The famous words of Lincoln, immortalised in stone, ensuring that generations ago and in generations to come, people can come and be inspired by the man and the statue memorialising him. Standing here, I felt an immense feeling of satisfaction – I was finally here, and another life-long dream had been fulfilled by visiting this site.

DSCF1317

The procession of memorials continued: I passed the Vietnam War Memorial, a sheer, giant black wall, running along a seemingly endless distance, covered with the names of those who perished. A stark contrast to the grand, optimistic memorials surrounding it, the atmosphere by this memorial was solemn, reflecting this dark and tragic period of America’s history. Equally moving was the Korean War Memorial, a battlefield scattered with statues of soldiers, alongside the poignant words: “Freedom is not free.”

Finally, an enclave led to a large white pillar, with the face of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. carved into it. If someone asked me to name a historical figure that I most admired, it would either be T.E. Lawrence, Winston Churchill, or Dr. King. I have not only been enchanted by his articulate, eloquent speeches, but by the strength of character that he showed in resisting fierce oppression, and campaigning for peace and equality, without ever resorting to violence. Seeing the memorial of this inspirational figure, flanked by carvings of his most famous quotes, was an unforgettable moment.

It had been a breathtaking day, and as I made my way through the leafy open avenues of Washington, I was in awe at the city’s beauty. I just about made it to the barbecue, where I got to meet many other travellers, who were either beginning their American adventures or preparing to head home. It was fascinating to hear their stories, especially the positive things that they had to say about the places I was yet to visit. Whilst I love running around, taking part in exhilarating activities and seeing magnificent sites, I cannot emphasise enough how much my adventures have been enriched by the people I’ve met along the way. The advantage of travelling alone is that I was able to meet many people across the United States, and this evening exemplified the enjoyment I gained through listening to the stories of others. Eventually, after a long day, I went to sleep, still in amazement from the spectacular things I had visited in my first day in Washington.

DSCF1329

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment