The American Dream: New York – Part One

“The American, by nature, is optimistic. He is experimental, an inventor and a builder who builds best when called upon to build greatly.” John F. Kennedy

DSCF9639

Day 1

New York City. The Big Apple, home of countless movies, iconic American landmarks, awe-inspiring skyscrapers and one of the world’s most vibrant, diverse populations. After a nine-hour journey, I stepped onto American soil; my adventure had begun.

My first challenge was to reach my hostel, only armed with some haphazard directions obtained from the internet. I was determined to experience American culture as much as possible, and therefore decided to brave the legendary New York Subway. This was an attraction in itself: boarding the train, seeing the kaleidoscope of nationalities riding with me, looking out at the dilapidated buildings that we passed on the outskirts of Manhattan. I was finally here.

DSCF9105

As the train rattled towards the centre of Manhattan, I was able to find my station with some help from the locals; the friendliness and openness of New Yorkers was immediately striking. I’d been warned to expect a relative degree of hostility prior to my arrival, but these warnings poorly described the lively, helpful people who I encountered in my five days here. I was particularly surprised by the openness of New Yorkers, who would address you as if addressing a family member, instantly creating a rapport and familiarity which never ceased to amaze me.

After reaching my stop, I climbed endless stairs, rising up and up until I finally reached the surface…buildings which stretched into infinity surrounded me. A cacophony of car horns rang in the distance. Smoke rose from the manhole covers. A legendary yellow cab painted the traffic as it whizzed by. Central Park was to my left, and leafy open avenues with red-brick buildings welcomed me. This was New York City.

After a short walk, trying to accept that I was seeing this filmic location with my own eyes, I found my hostel. After checking in, I raced back out, desperately wanting to make the most of the slowly dwindling daylight. The hostel was offering free pizza in an hour, and after a long journey, it was, to paraphrase a famous fictional New York resident, an offer that I couldn’t refuse. One hour. Thankfully, Central Park was opposite, so I headed from the concrete jungle into the natural wonder that spanned almost a third of the island.

From the moment I entered the park, I was enthralled by its natural beauty, an oasis of trees and reservoirs in a desert of man-made wonders. Trees, walkways, hills and pavements, I slowly walked through this natural…CYCLIST! And another one! Wow – I knew that I needed to be vigilant towards New York’s traffic, but I didn’t think that it applied to Central Park! In truth, this avenue of human traffic mirrored that of the Manhattan streets, with a multitude of cyclists replacing the cars and the endless citizens rushing on their way were replaced by….endless citizens rushing on their way, except they were running. It seemed as if Central Park was a runners’ Mecca, as I was forced to weave my way in and out of an incessant number of committed exercisers. Even here, experiencing just a vignette of the world’s most famous city, I was enchanted by its scale, beauty and vibrant atmosphere. In spite of this, ironically, I’d only walked through a small part of Central Park, let alone Manhattan itself. After surviving the stampede of athletes and cyclists, I was back in time for pizza.

DSCF9107

I’d been told prior to my arrival in New York that I couldn’t really experience the city without tasting its pizza, but whilst the food was terrific, it was the conversation that I shared whilst eating it that provided me with a clear insight into the Big Apple. The hostel worker who provided the pizza told me that many people had to work two jobs in order to not only fund their dreams, but to live comfortably. “That’s why they call New York the city that never sleeps. Because everyone’s working their first job at daytime and their second through the night.”

After finishing, I resolved to experience the magic of New York’s bustling atmosphere at night for myself. Braving the subway once more, I got off the train, raced to the top, and…was overwhelmed by the magnificent lights which greeted me. Neon lights which stretched across the skyscrapers and beyond. It almost felt like daytime, even though it was rapidly approaching midnight. If this wasn’t enough, the streets were packed with natives, tourists, and ticket-touts, all buzzing along and savouring the astonishing atmosphere. Like moths to the sunlight, the crowd followed the street of neon lights until we reached an opening…I had to pinch myself. The legendary neon Coca-Cola bottle, peering over a large red staircase, filled with people excitedly taking photographs, the epicentre of an explosion of lights and interactive billboards, dwarfing the disciples who came to witness its wonders. I looked around, surrounded by light and a glimpse of the future. A place where the structures remained still as the technology and tourists constantly moved around it. After seeing the pictures and movies, I’d made it. I was standing in the centre of Times Square.

DSCF9197

After walking through the crowds, I made it to the steps, still mesmerised by my illuminated surroundings. I sat at the top for almost an hour, pausing only to help tourists with photos, whilst they returned the favour by helping me capture the moment. As I sat, looking into this man-made wonder, I reflected on the fact that I was finally here, in Times Square, at the beginning of a journey that I had always dreamed of taking. Eventually, and reluctantly, I left Times Square and returned to the hostel, knowing that my New York adventures had barely begun…

Day 2

I rose just after the sun, excited to explore New York City, gathered my belongings and opened the door. The leafy open avenue was still there, and a vast array of sights and attractions awaited me; inspired, I set off on foot, aiming to reach Times Square.

From the moment I walked along its streets, the bustling, vibrant character of New York emerged. The open halls of never-ending skyscrapers, the people rushing along, the high volume of traffic…there was a familiar energetic quality to this city which reminded me of London, but was unmistakably New York. After walking through the streets, I decided to cut into Central Park, experiencing more – I was still amazed by the variety of wonders in this city, and how I could move from bustling crowds and skyscrapers to tranquil rivers and areas of natural beauty merely by crossing the road.

As I walked through the park, hearing the soft whistling of the wind as it followed me through the colossal, evergreen trees, I saw an opening, with a large stone rock. Quite steep and tall, with a smooth surface, and no easy way to ascend it. I couldn’t resist. Moving quickly, I made it to the top, looked up, and was greeted by a sweeping view of the park, with trees and footpaths continuing until the edge, where skyscrapers stood, piercing the clouds and leaning over the natural wonders which it dwarfed. After making my way down from the rock, through the winding paths, I rejoined the procession of skyscrapers. Except now, I’d reached a more corporate part. The skyscrapers were higher, suits with briefcases scurried past me, and the atmosphere was more electrifying.

DSCF9293

I continued south, and was stunned by how many infamous locations I stumbled upon, including FAO Schwartz, the world’s most famous toystore, in which I excitedly recreated the scene from ‘Big’ by jumping on the keys of its Grand Piano. I moved on, racing through the streets of New York City, my pace enabling me to easily assimilate with the locals who rushed with me. I dodged a few people – oh, sorry, that was a group of tourists with a map that I nearly rushed into – only stopping to join the herd of citizens waiting to cross the road. Eventually, I reached a dead-end. Except this dead-end was one of the most popular ways to travel in and out of the city – Grand Central Station. I walked in, seeing the open space, the dozens of travellers rushing to catch their trains or simply pass through. I left the station, heading through the people and streets, until I finally entered Times Square once more. Even during the day, the effervescent lights and grand billboards stunned me.

After visiting a disturbing exhibit dedicated to real, artificially-preserved body parts in Discovery Times Square Museum, I decided to continue my exploration of Manhattan with a cruise of the island. The final boat would leave at 3pm, so I should have plenty of….it’s 2:45!!! I’ve got 15 minutes to get out of Times Square and somehow make it to the edge of the river in a city that I’ve only just arrived in! Thankfully I’ve got a map – I run out of Times Square, ducking and diving my way past the crowds, and follow the street names as the numbers descend…55th, 54th, 53rd – RIGHT TURN!!! This is how I imagined my adventure would be. Well, at the moment, I’m more worried about making it to the boat in time, but here I am, racing through the bustling streets of New York on my very own American adventure. I reach a turning – water, that’s always a good sign. Running along, I make it to the waterfront and see the advertisements for the boat, and then the boat itself. It’s 2:59.  I buy a ticket, and race to the entrance. But the guard is closing the entrance and the boat workers are pulling the ramp away. I decide to try and get on anyway – after asking the guard if it’s too late, he opens the gate and tells me to run quickly before the boat leaves. I run, call to the workers, and…they open the ramp and let me on. I made it!

It was worth the effort – although the weather was overcast, the magnificent view of the island of Manhattan was unforgettable, the skyscrapers and bridges slowly emerging as we peeled away from the shore. I stood on the upper deck, exposed to the ferocious, howling wind, and had to fight with the elements in order to stand up, let alone take photos to capture my experience. Somehow, I made it, and for the first time, as we rocked along the Hudson River on our three-hour boat tour, I was able to see attractions that I had only seen on a television or computer screen before: the Brooklyn Bridge, the Empire State Building, the Statue of Liberty – an assortment of wonders, all waiting to be discovered much later. The view, and the boat ride, were nothing short of spectacular – I would usually be amazed by deserts and ancient landscapes, but this modern, man-made paradise was no less spectacular. Our tour took us from Manhattan to Brooklyn, to the Bronx and Harlem, through the edges of the Big Apple before returning to its shining core.

DSCF9539

Evening was approaching, and I ended my day by visiting many notable figures, including Abraham Lincoln, President Obama and Michael Jackson. In Madame Tussaud’s. It was an enjoyable way to end the day. The fact that I’ve already written so much vindicates my feelings at the time: after only 24 hours in America, I’d experienced a vast range of spectacular, unforgettable things, and thankfully, I still had three days left – and that was just in New York. My expectations for this adventure were extremely high, yet already, at this point, they were being exceeded. And tomorrow, I’d be heading on another boat to the beacon of America, the Statue of Liberty…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 responses to “The American Dream: New York – Part One

Leave a comment